Death Be Not Proud – John Donne

Death, be not proud, though some have called thee
Mighty and dreadful, for thou art not so;
For those, whom thou think’st thou dost overthrow,
Die not, poor Death, nor yet canst thou kill me.
From rest and sleep, which but thy picture[s] be,
Much pleasure, then from thee much more must flow,
And soonest our best men with thee do go,
Rest of their bones, and soul’s delivery.
Thou’rt slave to Fate, chance, kings, and desperate men,
And dost with poison, war, and sickness dwell,
And poppy, or charms can make us sleep as well,
And better than thy stroke ; why swell’st thou then?
One short sleep past, we wake eternally,
And Death shall be no more ; Death, thou shalt die.

John Donne – Holy Sonnet X [written between 1601 and 1610]

One thought on “Death Be Not Proud – John Donne

  1. Hello! Your site is running lagging for me, that consumed just
    like a minute or two to actually load up, I really have no idea if it’s just me or maybe websites however facebook performed for
    me. Anyway, I appreciate you for posting such type of amazing article.
    In my opinion it has already been honestly beneficial to visitor who actually visit here.
    I personally must state that you really have done excellent work with this and also hope to check out much more amazing
    things from you. To obtain additional knowledge from content which you post, I
    have saved to my bookmarks this web site.

Lascia un commento

